DSC_0100-2.jpg

 

Washington

Originally from Brazil, but after a rough youth happily living in New York City. You can find him riding his bike or working out at Hudson River Park. But most of the time he’s leading
maman nomad.

 

When he’s hungry: croque maman

How he likes his coffee: black filtered coffee

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

His story:

When I was 10 years old, my parents broke up. My mom left with my two younger siblings to go the US, which made me very sad. I stayed in Brazil with my dad. From the moment my mom and siblings left, I had this goal to live together as a family again one day. Since I was 10 years old my biggest dream was to move to the US, so we could achieve this goal. It’s kind of a sad story when I look back at it. Until I could make this dream a reality, I stayed in Brazil and started studying hospitality and events. Shortly after, I got a job as an event coordinator at a production company. It was a very busy company with events for 10,000 people, in collaboration with show businesses and corporations. I had worked there for 7 years when I got a green card from the American Government. I was 28 at the time, having the best days of my life. I had a good job, busy life, lots of friends here and now I got the opportunity to go to the US. Even though it was hard to leave all of this behind me, I chose to finally follow my dream and live with my family. My dream came true because we actually all lived in New York together for two years. A huge difference from before where we only saw each other once every two years.  

“I chose to finally follow my dream”

In the beginning it wasn’t very easy for me to live in this big city. I couldn’t speak English at all. The first job I had in New York was as a taxi driver, in the classic yellow cabs, until the police officer gave me two tickets. This added up to 11 points on my license (when you get 6 points, you get suspended). I had to look for another job and that’s the moment I walked into maman. They were offering a job as a maman driver. During my initial job interview with Ben, he offered me job as a waiter in Tribeca. I had no experience in being a waiter, but with my previous experience in customer service and event coordination I had the basic skills I needed to start off on the right foot. In the meantime, I was still looking for another job that was more closely related to my school field, which is visual production.

“I know exactly what they
want to order”

Then I got the opportunity to be the assistant manager of maman Tribeca.  I took the job and really enjoy working here. My favorite part is interacting with the customers. I have a lot of regular customers that come in every day or week. I know exactly what they want to order. Sometimes people come in especially for me, they give me a hug and we talk a bit. It’s like a relationship you build together.

As I see maman growing a lot, I would like to grow in my position as well. It would be nice to have the general manager position of all stores one day. To teach the staff about good customer service. My goal in life is to start my own bed and breakfast on the beach somewhere. I’d like to work for myself and run my own business in a place where I feel the most energized. Every day I wake up with good inspiration. I thank God every morning when I wake up, because I’m healthy, I have a house and my family is doing well. Every day there are these unexpected things of what the day is going to bring you. Some days are stressful or tired, but when I go home with a positive mindset that’s all I need. Thanks maman for having me here.